Arla Appoints Two New Members in Board of Directors

DENMARK - Arla Foods is one of the world’s largest dairy cooperatives, and this week, the Arla Group’s Board of Representatives met to confirm the election of members for the Board of Directors in Arla Foods amba for the coming two years.
calendar icon 25 May 2017
clock icon 2 minute read

Farmers elect farmers to govern their cooperative

The Arla Board of Directors consist of 15 farmers, who are elected by farmers to represent the 12,000 farmer owners of Arla. Also, Arla employees are represented on the Board by three members.

This year two new members have joined the Arla Board of Directors: Inger-Lise Sjöstrom, who is elected by farmers in Sweden. She has replaced Palle Borgström.

Simon Simonsen has been elected by Danish farmers to replace Thomas Johansen. Both Palle Borgström and Thomas Johansen announced earlier this year that they were not seeking re-election.

Following the election of the Board of Directors, the Board has re-elected Åke Hantoft as chairman and Jan Toft Nørgaard as vice chairman.

Arla’s Board of Directors 2017-2019:

Chairman Åke Hantoft (re-elected by farmers in Sweden)
Vice-chairman Jan Toft Nørgaard (re-elected by farmers in Denmark)
Bjørn Jepsen (re-elected by farmers in Denmark)
Hélene Gunnarson (re-elected by farmers in Sweden)
Inger-Lise Sjöstrom (elected by farmers in Sweden) Newly elected
Johnnie Russell (re-elected by farmers in the United Kingdom)
Jonathan Ovens (re-elected by farmers in the United Kingdom)
Jonas Carlgren (re-elected by farmers in Sweden)
Manfred Graff (re-elected by farmers in Central Europe)
Manfred Sievers (re-elected by farmers in Central Europe)
Markus Hübers (re-elected by farmers in Central Europe)
Simon Simonsen (elected by farmers in Denmark) Newly elected
Steen Nørgaard Madsen (re-elected by farmers in Denmark)
Torben Myrup (re-elected by farmers in Denmark)
Viggo Ø. Bloch (re-elected by farmers in Denmark)

Employee representatives elected by Arla’s European Work Council:

Haakan Gillström, Harry Shaw and Ib Bjerglund.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.