- news, features, articles and disease information for the dairy industry


Vilsack Announces National Fluid Milk Board Appointments

24 May 2010

US - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced the appointment of seven members to the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms effective July 1, 2010.

Newly appointed National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board members are: Tunde E. Balazs, New York; Nick Mysoré, Texas; Henry F. Michon, California; and Brian P. Linney, Washington (At-Large Processor.)

Reappointed to serve second terms are: Charles L. Gaither, Jr., North Carolina; James B. Green, Minnesota; and Teresa E. Webb, New Jersey (At-Large Processor.)

The 20 member board’s goal is to strengthen the position of fluid milk in the marketplace and to maintain and expand uses for fluid milk products. The mandatory program is funded through a 20-cent per hundredweight assessment on fluid milk products processed and marketed commercially in the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia. Processors who process and market three million pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight of the board.

The board is authorised by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990, as amended. The Secretary selected the appointees from nominations submitted by eligible processor organisations.

TheCattleSite News Desk


Seasonal Picks

Managing Pig Health: A Reference for the Farm - 2nd Edition