Johanns Names Members to US National Dairy Board

US - Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns today announced the appointment of seven new members and reappointment of five incumbents to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. All will serve three-year terms from Nov. 1, 2006, through Oct. 31, 2009.
calendar icon 4 October 2006
clock icon 2 minute read

Newly appointed were: Lawrence A. Hancock, Muleshoe, Texas (Region 4); Paul L. Kent, Mora, Minn. (Region 5); Peter J. Kappelman, Two Rivers, Wis. (Region 6); Randy G. Roecker, Loganville, Wis. (Region 6); Larry G. Purdom, Purdy, Mo. (Region 7); Rita P. Kennedy, Valencia, Pa., (Region 11); and Sanford Stauffer, Nicholville, N.Y. (Region 12).

Reappointed to serve second terms were: Elizabeth I. Anderson, Onalaska, Wash. (Region 1); Mary E. Cameron, Hanford, Calif. (Region 2); Kimberly K. Clauss, Hilmar, Calif. (Region 2); William C. Stouder, Wendell, Idaho (Region 3); and Donald E. Gurtner, Fremont, Ind. (Region 9).

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, composed of 36 dairy farmers representing 13 regions of the contiguous United States, administers a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education.

The board was established by the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983. It is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry's position in domestic and foreign markets. The national program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on milk produced in the contiguous 48 states and marketed commercially by dairy farmers. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operation of the board.

AMS encourages all eligible individuals to participate in its committee and board activities. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2022 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.