- news, features, articles and disease information for the dairy industry


Holstein Judging Winners Announced

18 March 2014

UK - Holstein UK has revealed the winners of its inaugural All Britain Judging Competition.

With the number of entries nearing triple figures, leading the field was Shropshire’s James Doherty.

Following close behind in second was Ben Yates, also from Shropshire and third place was filled by Richard Armstrong, Cumbria.

Dovetailing Holstein UK’s All Britain Awards, the All Britain Judging Competition allowed applicants to judge each class from first to last place.

Proving a popular and highly successful initiative, the free-to-all competition also attracted international entrants over the contest’s 38-day entry window, which closed on Saturday 8 March.

Frontrunner James Doherty, who placed eight of the 10 winning cows correctly, will receive a Holstein UK jacket and following high demand, the competition will run again next year.

The top 30 participants are listed below:

1. James Doherty
2. Ben Yates
3. Richard Armstrong
4. Elaine Phillips
5. Steven Roan
6. Andrew Lawrie
7. Amanda Woodhouse
8. Jon Miller
9. James Pratt
10. Tom Jones
11. Willie Fleming
12. Luke Harris
13. Steven Harris
14. David Jones
15. Simon Moseley
16. Neil Eastham
17. Isla Arrell
18. Graham Kirby
19. Tom Peters
20. Gordon Lyle
21. Jim Barr
22. Dermot McCarthy
23. Nicky Bishop
24. Mark Robinson
25. James Robinson
26. Wyn Jones
27. Richard Bostock
28. Frances Griffiths
29. Mark Henry
30. John Matthews

TheCattleSite News Desk

Our Sponsors


Seasonal Picks

British Field Crops 2nd edition